Monday, November 1, 2010

2011 Elias Free Agent Compensation

Courtesy of Baseball America, here is the Elias Free Agent Compensation Rankings:

"Players who rank in the top 20 percent of their position group (as determined by a statistical formula laid out in the Collective Bargaining Agreement) are designated as Type A free agents, and those who rate in the 21-40 percent bracket are designated as Type B. In order to receive compensation for a Type A or B free agent, the player's former team must offer him arbitration by the Nov. 23 deadline. The player also must sign a major league contract with his new club.

Type A free agents bring back the signing team's first-round pick and a supplemental first-rounder as compensation, while Type B free agents produce only the sandwich pick. Clubs that finished in the bottom half of the major league standings have their first-rounders protected from compensation, and teams also can't lose a consolation pick for failure to sign a draftee from the previous year. If a team signs multiple Type A free agents, the club that lost the higher-ranking player gets the better choice.

Below are the potential Type A and B compensation free agents by position, listed in order of their statistical ranking."

Potential Type A Compensation Free Agents
Victor Martinez (Bos), A.J. Pierzynski (CWS), Ramon Hernandez (Cin), Bengie Molina (Tex).
First Basemen: Paul Konerko (CWS), Adam Dunn (Was), Derrek Lee (Atl)
Second Basemen: None.
Third Basemen: Adrian Beltre (Bos), Miguel Tejada (SD).
Shortstops: Derek Jeter (NYY).
Outfielders: Jayson Werth (Phi), Carl Crawford (TB), Magglio Ordonez (Det), Manny Ramirez (CWS).
Designated Hitters: Vladimir Guerrero (Tex).
Starting Pitchers: Cliff Lee (Tex), Andy Pettitte (NYY), Carl Pavano (Min), Jorge de la Rosa (Col).
Relief Pitchers: Rafael Soriano (TB), Mariano Rivera (NYY), Matt Guerrier (Min), Scott Downs (Tor), Dan Wheeler (TB), Jason Frasor (Tor), Frank Francisco (Tex), Grant Balfour (TB), Arthur Rhodes (Cin).
Potential Type B Compensation Free Agents
John Buck (Tor), Miguel Olivo (Tor), Jason Varitek (Bos), Yorvit Torrealba (SD), Gerald Laird (Det), Rod Barajas (LAD).
First Basemen: Lance Berkman (NYY), Carlos Pena (TB), Mike Lowell (Bos), Adam LaRoche (Ari), Aubrey Huff (SF).
Second Basemen: Orlando Hudson (Min), David Eckstein (SD).
Third Basemen: Felipe Lopez (Bos).
Shortstops: Orlando Cabrera (Cin), Juan Uribe (SF).
Outfielders: Brad Hawpe (TB), Scott Podsednik (LAD).
Designated Hitters: Johnny Damon (Det), Hideki Matsui (LAA).
Starting Pitchers: Jon Garland (SD), Javier Vazquez (NYY), Hiroki Kuroda (LAD), Kevin Millwood (Bal), Kevin Correia (SD).
Relief Pitchers: Jon Rauch (Min), Koji Uehara (Bal), Brian Fuentes (Min), Kevin Gregg (Tor), Joaquin Benoit (TB), Pedro Feliciano (NYM), Octavio Dotel (Col), Trevor Hoffman (Mil), Kerry Wood (NYY), Randy Choate (TB), J.J. Putz (CWS), Jesse Crain (Min), Aaron Heilman (Ari), Chad Durbin (Phi), Chad Qualls (TB).

No comments:

Post a Comment